Westminster Church Choir presents Gabriel Fauré’s REQUIEM

Gabriel Fauré 1845-1924

Gabriel Fauré

Remembrance Sunday
November 13th, 2016 10:30 AM

Two years ago, Westminster Choir and its soloists presented Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Requiem in D minor. This year the choir performs yet another classic work, Romantic composer Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem.

This Requiem is a large departure from the work of Mozart, as its music and language no longer dwell on judgment and doomsday, but rather focus on grace, hope, and peace.

The work is just over thirty minutes long, and while not as technically difficult as other pieces in the genre, is musically challenging. Pitfalls concerning phrasing, language and vocal control abound in every movement.

The Requiem is divided into seven movements:

  1. Introit and Kyrie
  2. Offertory
  3. Sanctus
  4. Pie Jesu
  5. Agnus Dei
  6. Libera Me
  7. In Paradisum

The version of the Requiem being presented on November 13th has been edited by English composer John Rutter- who has gone back to the original source material of Faure’s chamber orchestra version and reconstructed a suitable arrangement for chamber orchestra, or organ.

Our presentation will feature the added benefit of a harp- Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra harpist Richard Turner will be joining us on critical movements such as the Sanctus, Pie Jesu, and In Paradisum. 

Soprano Cathryn Harrison will be singing the iconic Pie Jesu, and our baritone soloist will be featured in the Libera Me, and the Offertory.

Our recently refurbished Casavant Frères organ will be played by Don Menzies, who just celebrated his 50th anniversary as the organist of Westminster. Our grand organ is the perfect instrument to accompany the choir and soloists for this presentation.


Speak your mind


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.